Wayne Shorter to Obtain Lifetime Achievement Award at Jazz Music Awards: Full Nominations Checklist

Saxophonist and composer Wayne Shorter is slated to obtain a lifetime achievement award on the inaugural Jazz Music Awards, set for Oct. 22 on the Cobb Vitality Performing Arts Centre in Atlanta.

Shorter, 88, got here to prominence within the late Fifties as a member of Artwork Blakey’s Jazz Messengers. Within the Nineteen Sixties, he joined Miles Davis’ quintet after which co-founded the jazz fusion band Climate Report. Shorter, an 11-time Grammy winner, obtained a lifetime achievement award from the Recording Academy in 2015 and the Polar Music Prize in 2017.

Extra from Billboard

Six different honorary awards shall be offered on the Jazz Music Awards, along with eight aggressive awards.

The late pianist and composer McCoy Tyner, who died in 2020, will obtain the Jazz Legend award. Trendy jazz trumpeter and composer Ambrose Akinmusire will obtain the Jazz Innovator Award; vocalist, composer, and educator Dr. Lenora Helm Hammonds, the Jazz Training Award; avant-garde saxophonist and woodwinds participant and composer Henry Threadgill, the Jazz Composer Award; and veteran musician and educator James H. Patterson, the Jazz Influence Award.

The Baylor Venture are the highest nominees in aggressive classes, with three nods for his or her album, Generations. The Baylor Venture are four-time Grammy nominees.

Subsequent in step with two nominations every are Orrin Evans, Kenny Garrett, Brian Culbertson, Christian McBride and Brandee Youthful.

“We’re honored to acknowledge and current a variety of dynamic and modern artists together with our six award honorees and our 33 nominees,” Wendy F. Williams, creator and govt producer of the Jazz Music Awards, mentioned in a press release. “We’re formally the primary and solely awards present to solely rejoice jazz music on a world platform in North America…By recognizing our honorees and nominees, we’re giving thanks for his or her unimaginable artistry that furthers the richness of the jazz custom, which is integral to American music and tradition.”

The Jazz Music Awards will characteristic dwell performances by Dee Dee Bridgewater, Ledisi, Lizz Wright and Jazzmeia Horn. Recording artist and composer Terri Lyne Carrington will function musical director and co-executive producer for the inaugural ceremony.

“The Jazz Music Awards is a vital and necessary platform for the worldwide jazz neighborhood,” Carrington mentioned in a press release. “It’s important that we highlight and rejoice artists throughout all hybrids of jazz, lots of whom have been neglected or unsung all through their careers.”

The eligibility interval for the inaugural awards ran from April 1, 2021, via March 31, 2022. There are 4 nominees in most classes, however due to a tie, there are 5 nominees in the perfect duo, group or massive band class. Additionally, the perfect worldwide artist (up to date or mainstream) class didn’t obtain sufficient nominations to make the ultimate poll this 12 months.

Tickets to the occasion, with its motto “Celebrating the Spirit of Jazz,” went on sale Monday. For updates on the awards ceremony, go to jazzmusicawards.com.

Right here’s an entire listing of nominees within the eight aggressive classes:

Finest Mainstream Artist
Joey DeFrancesco, Extra Music
Kenny Garrett, Sounds From The Ancestors
Christian McBride & Inside Straight, Dwell on the Village Vanguard
Brandee Youthful, Someplace Completely different

Finest Modern Artist
Brian Bromberg, A Little Driving Music
Ben Tankard, SHINE!
Lindsey Webster, “I Didn’t Imply It”
Ragan Whiteside, “Off the Cuff”

Finest Duo, Group, or Large Band
The Baylor Venture, Generations
Jazzmeia Horn and Her Noble Drive, Expensive Love
Christian McBride & Inside Straight, Dwell on the Village Vanguard
Depend Basie Orchestra, Dwell at Birdland
(beneath the route of Scotty Barnhart)
Kevin Eubanks and Orrin Evans, EEE (Eubanks-Evans-Expertise)

Finest New Jazz Artist (Modern or Mainstream)
Simon Moullier, Countdown
Julieta Engenio, Soar
Kazemde George, I Insist
Samara Pleasure, Samara Pleasure

Finest Vocal Efficiency
The Baylor Venture, Generations
Somi Kakoma, Dreaming Zenzile
Stacey Kent, Songs From Different Locations
Shawnn Monteiro, You Are There

Finest Mainstream Album
The Baylor Venture, Generations
Orrin Evans, The Magic of Now
Kenny Garrett, Sounds From The Ancestors
Brandee Youthful, Someplace Completely different

Finest Modern Album
Bob Baldwin, The Keep at Residence Sequence, Quantity 1
Brian Culbertson, The Trilogy Pink
Sonny Emory, Soul Ascension
Gabriel Mark Hasselbach, Tongue & Groove

Music of the 12 months (Fan Vote)
Norman Brown, “Again At Ya”
Brian Culbertson, “Really feel the Love”
Justin-Lee Schultz, “Gruv Child”
James “PJ” Spraggins, “Up From Right here”

Click on right here to learn the complete article.

Related posts